Jackfruit Datil Pepper Jam

I picked some more Datil Peppers today and decided to pair them with the Jackfruit I bought the other day and make jam. I love the combination of spicy and sweet. The jam I made today has the perfect balance of sweet and heat.

I put chopped Jackfruit in a saucepan with enough water to cover, brought it to a boil then let it simmer with a lid.

jackfruit 1jam 1


While the Jackfruit was cooking I chopped the Datil Peppers and grated some jaggery. When the Jackfruit had softened I blended it with an immersion blender then added the peppers and jaggery and blended it a few more pulses.

Speaking of jaggery, when I was just a toddler in India, Vedanayagam had difficulty pronouncing my name, Gregory, so he called me Jaggery.

jam 2jam 3

jam 4


I stirred in about a cup of white sugar and the zest and juice of a lemon then let it simmer for a couple hours without a lid until it got fairly thick.

jam 5jam 6


The mixture was already quite thick from boiling down but I added about half a box of fruit pectin and let it boil for a minute longer before pouring the jam into sterilized jars and processing them in a water bath canner. After filling 7 quarter pint jars there was enough jam left in the sauce pan for a small taste. I couldn’t be more pleased with the results.

jam 8jam 7



One thought on “Jackfruit Datil Pepper Jam

Leave a comment