Poblano Whole Wheat Crepes With Malabar Spinach & Quark Filling

I miss having spinach fresh from the garden. It simply will not grow in the summer heat. This time of year the main choices are Swiss chard and beet tops. Malabar spinach is another good alternative to fill the need for dark leafy greens. When raw the leaves smell and taste of chlorophyll, but have a very pleasant flavor when cooked. On this occasion, since this was to be our breakfast, I used the greens as a filling for crepes.

The crepes were made with whole wheat flour, milk, eggs, poblano peppers, olive oil and kosher salt. Nothing was measured. I used a hand blender to blend two eggs, approximately 1/2 cup of milk, the roasted poblanos, and the oil. I added the whole wheat flour little by little until the consistency seemed right. The batter rested in the refrigerator while the malabar spinach was cooking.

Malabar spinach crepes

 

The Malabar spinach was added to sautéed onions and cooked until the raw chlorophyll smell went away.

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

 

When the crepes were made and ready to be filled I mixed quark* in with the greens.

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

Malabar spinach crepes

 

The poblano peppers were immature and contributed little more than to add a green tinge to the crepes.

Malabar spinach crepes

 

* Some time ago, after experimenting with homemade quark, I expressed a desire to taste genuine store-bought quark for comparison. My WordPress friend, Ronit, suggested I look for it at a Kosher deli. The other day, while in the city on other business, we finally made it over to Gleiberman’s Kosher Deli, and I am so glad we did. They had the quark I was looking for, and we also picked up the best half sour pickles I’ve ever tasted. The cracked green olives were excellent as well.

Gleiberman's Kosher Deli



 


4 thoughts on “Poblano Whole Wheat Crepes With Malabar Spinach & Quark Filling

Leave a comment