Toasted Veggie Burrito

The carnivores in my family decided to go to a barbecue joint for lunch. While they were out eating dead animals I opted to stay home and kill some plant matter for my meal. Normally we would all go together to a restaurant where each one’s tastes could be satisfied, but on this occasion the chosen establishment was quite specific which food group it proffered, so I declined.

For my lunch I went outside and picked some Malabar spinach, and a few baby summer squashes.

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

 

I stir fried the veggies starting with the onions and garlic and then the squashes.

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

 

I added cumin seeds crushed with mortar and pestle and continued cooking for a few minutes before adding the Malabar spinach.

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

 

Lastly, I rolled the veggies into a burrito and toasted it on all sides in a dry pan.

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

 

You may have noticed I didn’t include any peppers in my veggie burrito. That is because I would be enjoying it with my home fermented red jalapeño salsa.

veggie burrito

veggie burrito

veggie burrito



 


3 thoughts on “Toasted Veggie Burrito

Leave a comment