Mushrooms & Onions Tofu Steaks

It is not often tofu is on the menu these days, but when I saw this pre-pressed super firm tofu I made the purchase. I wanted to try it in steak form.

tofu mushroom steaks (1).jpg

 

I cut the tofu into slabs and marinated them for a few hours in mushroom sauce and mushroom flavored soy sauce.

tofu mushroom steaks

green beans and mushrooms

tofu mushroom steaks

 

Leaving a light film of marinade clinging to the tofu slabs I fried them on both sides in avocado oil.

tofu mushroom steaks (4).jpg

tofu mushroom steaks

 

In the same pan I sautéed onion, jalapeño*, celery, elephant garlic and mushrooms.

*I use jalapeños interchangeably with bell peppers. The large ones I am growing this year are not the least bit hot as long as the seeds and ribs are completely removed.

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks (7).jpg

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks

 

After deglazing the pan with white wine (Pino Grigio, if you wanna know) I added the mushroom sauce and mushroom flavored soy sauce in which the tofu had been marinated.

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks

 

The tofu steaks were then reheated in with the mushrooms, onions and sauce.

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks

 

Also on the plate were perpetual spinach (a diminutive variety of chard) and golden zucchini.

perpetual spinach

perpetual spinach

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks

tofu mushroom steaks



 


Leave a comment