Black Bean Tostadas

If I had to choose one dish to eat for every meal for the rest of my life tostadas would be on my list of considerations. The combination of corn tortillas and beans constitute a complete protein, in addition there is the cheese. Tostadas also have elements of a salad, and they satisfy my penchant for pungent flavors when served with salsa or hot pepper sauce.

I heated up refried black beans to which I added ketchup and chipotle Tex-Mex seasoning and spread it on (obviously) homemade yellow corn tortillas.


 

On top of the black beans I scattered chopped green onions, chopped cilantro and shredded cheddar cheese.


 

While this was heating in a skillet I added torn romaine lettuce and sliced tomatoes.


 

I topped the tostadas with homemade cultured salsa and sour cream. On mine I shook generous dashes of my red Thai chili fermented hot sauce.


 

 

 

 

 

 


5 thoughts on “Black Bean Tostadas

    1. I rarely publish recipes per se listing ingredient amounts because I rarely measure anything. For the corn tortillas I followed the directions on the package of masa flour which read:

      For 4 tortillas:
      1/3 cup water to 1/2 cup masa and a pinch of salt

      For 8 tortillas:
      2/3 cup water to 1 cup masa and 1/8 teaspoon salt

      For 16 tortillas:
      1 1/3 cups water to 2 cups masa and 1/4 teaspoon flour

      Wrapping the dough and letting it rest makes it much more workable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment