Part Rye Rosemary Bread

It wasn’t very long ago I was intimidated by the thought of baking bread let alone baking with rye flour. This morning I mixed some yeast dough using warm buttermilk for the liquid. As far as I can remember the ratios of flours were 2 parts whole wheat, 1 part rye and one part all purpose flour. I flavored the dough with powdered rosemary.

The dough had pretty much doubled in size when we decided to drive to a national forest and go for a hike. I put the dough in the refrigerator to slow down the rise. When we got back home this afternoon I let the dough warm up a bit then formed it into a loaf for the second rise.

Before slashing the dough I dusted the top of the loaf with ramson leaf powder, then let it bake for 45 minutes at 350ºF.

ramps

bread


I tried to let the bread cool before cutting into it, I really did… for about five minutes.

bread

bread


 


Leave a comment